Skip To Main Content

Yushan National ParkLogo

Menu
玉山群峰線

Southern

Tribe Introduction

Meishan tribe outside the southern area of Yushan National Park is a Bunun tribal community. The tribe used to migrate between Junda River basin of Nantou County and Dafen of Hualien County before settling by the upstream area of Laonong River. The period also had an epic but rarely known history about Lahu Ali and Bunun people's fight, a legend in the Yu Shui community, against the Japanese police force.
The Meishan tribe is located at the northernmost tip of the Taoyuan District in Kaohsiung City. It is part of the high-elevation terrace of the old channel of Laonong River. The platform was full of wild yellow vines called "Masuhuaz" in the Bunun language back in the day, and yellow vines were used as the name of the tribe. Nowadays, the area is divided into Meishankou and Meishan tribe. Meishankou is located at the foothills by Southern Cross-Island Highway of Provincial Highway 20, and it is a place for local residents and tourists to engage in business. Meishan tribe can be accessed via the crossroad by Meishankou, and the local residents adopt organic farming to grow peaches, plums, and prunes. For information on organic farmers in the Meishan tribe, please refer to the e-book link of farmers' market.

Meishan Visitor Center and Proximity

Meishan Visitor Center and Proximity

Meishan access road is the main route going to the Meishan tribe (Masuhuaz), and the total distance from Meishankou to the tribe is about 1.7 kilometers. The road is winding along the way. After crossing the Masuhuaz Suspension Bridge or Meishan Bridge spanning Wei-Jing Creek, visitors will arrive at the Meishan tribe on the bank of Laonong River. Visitors can stop by the gazebo next to the suspension bridge to overlook the scenery where Wei-Jing Creek and Laonong River converge, before entering the indigenous tribe to experience the Bunun tribal culture.


The trees grown for prunes and plums are around the tribe, and the entire place is in a state of tranquility. The plum tree blossoms often attract a lot of visitors in winter. After paying a visit to the Residence of Lahu Ali's Descendants and Masuhuaz Cultural Village, the trip ends at Meishan Suspension Bridge. The orange-red bridge majestically spans Laonong River. The geological landscape of the terrace and downcutting and accumulation of river channels can be seen from the bridge. The place can connect to the distant Meilan Forest Trail (impassable now due to the collapse from a natural disaster). The access road (the reconnected section of Guanshan Hiking Trail) on the west side of the hillside can have the panoramic view of the tribe. A round-trip is about 4 kilometers and takes about 1 to 2 hours.

跳到主要內容

玉山國家公園形象標章

Menu
玉山群峰線

南部園區

部落介紹

梅山部落

梅山部落

玉山國家公園南部園區外的梅山部落屬於布農族郡社群,該社群曾輾轉逐居於南投縣郡大溪流域、花蓮縣大分,最後在荖濃溪上游定居,其間並衍生一段如史詩般壯濶,卻又鮮少為世人所熟知的拉荷阿雷「布農抗日史-玉穗社傳奇」。

梅山部落位於高雄市桃源區最北端,屬荖濃溪舊河道的高位河階地形,所在臺地早期遍佈布農族語稱「馬舒霍爾(Masuhuaz)」的野生黃藤,便以黃藤為部落名稱,現分為「梅山口」與「梅山部落」兩個區域,梅山口於台20線南橫公路旁的山麓下,為當地居民與遊客商業往來處所,梅山部落則由梅山口叉路聯絡道進入,當地居民以有機種植方式,生產梅子、紅肉梨等經濟作物為主。梅山部落有機農戶,請參考小農市集電子書連結。

更多詳細精彩故事,可至issuu電子書平台繼續閱讀。

梅子

梅子

愛玉

愛玉

梅花

梅花

馬舒霍爾吊橋

馬舒霍爾吊橋

前往梅山部落(馬舒霍爾(Masuhuaz))主要以「梅山連絡道」為交通要道,自梅山口到部落全長約 1.7 公里。沿途一路蜿蜒,在通過橫跨唯金溪的馬舒霍爾吊橋或梅山橋後,即來到位於荖濃溪畔的梅山部落,遊客到此可先至吊橋旁的涼亭眺望唯金溪與荖濃溪的交會口風光,再選擇進入原鄉部落來趟布農文化采風之旅。 部落內四周遍植梅、李等果樹, 幽雅靜謐,冬季梅花盛開時常吸引甚多遊人前來觀賞,在走訪「拉荷阿雷紀念解說碑」與「馬舒霍爾文化聚落所」後,旅程終點來到「梅山吊橋」,橘紅色的橋雄偉跨越荖濃溪,於橋上眺望河階與河流下切、堆積作用的地質景觀,十分壯麗。於此還可連接遠處的梅蘭林道(現已坍方中斷無法通行),或由西側 山坡的產業道路(關山越嶺道重合段),俯眺部落全景,往返約 4 公里路程,所需時間 1~2小時。