Skip To Main Content

Yushan National ParkLogo

Menu
玉山群峰線

Southern

Ecology

Southern Cross-Island Highway along the southern area of Yushan National Park ascends from an elevation of 1,000 meters to 2,700 meters. The weather changes frequently, and there are the most precious and richest biological resources in Taiwan's mountain forests. So far, at least 20 species of mammals, 120 species of birds, 50 species of amphibians, 130 species of butterflies, and 150 species of coleopteras have been discovered in the area. This place is an important gene bank for Yushan National Park and one of the representing indicators of Taiwan's biodiversity.

Plants

The staggering mountain peaks, creeks and valleys at the southern area of the park form diverse climatic vegetation belts. Broadleaf forests at a lower elevation to coniferous and boreal forests at a higher elevation can all be seen in the area. It has a complete forest ecosystem and has become a representative of Taiwan's vegetation field. (Please refer to guide pamphlet, articles in English and photos at the exhibition room of Meishan Visitor Center)

ramie

ramie

Evergreen broadleaf forest: Under the elevation of 1,800 meters

Lauraceae and fagaceae make up most of the tree species of forests in the area.
Between Meishankou and Liguan, the area is mostly the secondary vegetation that been felled or collapsed. East Asian mallotus, chinensis sumac, India-charcoal Trema, hibiscus taiwanensis, mulberry, ailanthus-like prickly ash, and flamegold rain tree are common in the area. The cultivated lands have mostly prune trees, plum trees, pear trees, peach trees, tung trees, and Formosan gum.
The section from Liguan to Tianchi is relatively humid, warm, rich in rainfall, and organic matters in the soil, so the trees are extremely lush. There are ramie, cinnamon, linden arrowwood, ring-cupped oak, Phoebe zhennan, alnus formosana, castanopsis carlesii, carpinus cordata, juglans cathayensis, elderberry, alocasia odora and bronze loquat, all common in the area. (check the Southern Cross-Island Highway Visitor Handbook for reference)

Cypress forest: At an elevation of 1,800 to 2,400 meters

These temperate broadleaf and mixed forests are the transition zone of Taiwan's ecosystems and also the largest rainfall zone. Clouds and fog are common throughout the year. The forests are extremely humid, so the area is also called the foggy forest zone.
There were fires in the vicinity of Tianchi in 1977, 1987, and 1990. The secondary vegetation we see now has miscanthus transmorrisonensis, Yushan cane grassland; red cypress, Taiwan red pine, and Armand pine plantations; ring-cupped oak, lady's glove, Formosa lily, Japanese andromeda, and pteridium revolutum.
 

lady's glove
red cypress
Formosa lily

Hemlock and spruce forests: At an elevation of 2,400 to 3,000 meters

The forest belt has the upper part of temperate broadleaf and mixed forests and coniferous forests, and there are mostly hemlock and spruces trees, with some Armand pines and Taiwan red pines. Spruce trees are distributed in shaded land or humid valleys, hemlock trees are mostly in pure forests, and Yushan canes are usually in the underbrush.
Hemlock forest belt is nearby Wukou, and other common plants there are trochodendron aralioides, Taiwan stranvaesia, berberis kawakamii, Taiwan coriaria, rhododendron, Japanese knotweed, brambles, salix fulvopubescens, Mount Yushan pearleverlasting, grape-leaf anemone, eyebright, Marsh grass of parnassus, tripterospermum cordifolium, rice Saartweed, and coltsfoot. (Southern Cross-Island Highway Visitor Handbook for reference)

Taiwan red pine
 brambles
trochodendron aralioides
Hemlock and spruce forests

Animals

Mammals

The rich and diverse forest belts in the southern area of the park have bred a wide variety of wild animals. There are Formosan rock macaque, wild boars, Reeves's muntjac, Formosan serow, pangolins, Formosan ferret-badger, Formosan black bear, yellow-throated marten, Formosan gem-faced civet, small chinese civet, Formosan white-headed flying squirrel, Formosan striped squirrel, red-bellied squirrel, Formosan giant red flying squirrel, and mustela sibirica.

Reeves's muntjac
red-bellied squirrel

Insects

Insects are one of the indicators for ecology. The insects in the southern area of the park are distributed all over fields and mountain tops. They add more vitality to the land. The common species in the area are byasa polyeuctes termessus, common mormons, Chinese peacock butterfly, stichophthalma howqua formosana, Japanese rhinoceros beetle, lucanus formosanus, prosopocoilus astacoides blanchardi, chrysochroa fulgidissima, and aquatica hydrophila.

trimeresurus gracilis

Reptiles

Common reptiles along Southern Cross-Island Highway in the southern area of the park are deinagkistrodon, protobothrops mucrosquamatus, ovophis monticola makazayazaya, trimeresurus gracilis, lycodon ruhstrati, sibynophis chinensis, hebius sauteri, rhabdophis tigrinus formosanus, Swinhoe's japalura, plestiodon elegans, and gecko.

collared scops owl

Birds

Yushan National Park has recorded a total of 233 species of birds in the entire park. Common birds along Southern Cross-Island Highway in the southern area of the park are collared scops owl, mountain scops owl, Eurasian tree sparrow, light-vented bulbul, Swinhoe's pheasant, Taiwan barbet, steere's liocichla, Taiwan yuhina, white-eared sibia, white-whiskered laughing thrush, common emerald dove, island thrush, white-backed woodpecker and black-throated bushtit.

odorrana swinhoana

Amphibians

Amphibians are ectothermic animals whose body temperature changes with the environment. As their skin is in direct contact with the environment, they need to grow in a clean, warm, and humid place, and they are an important type of indicator organisms. Due to the proper protection of the environment along Southern Cross-Island Highway, there are many types of amphibians, and they can be found in streams, trees, or quiet bodies of water. The common species in the area are odorrana swinhoana, zhangixalus moltrechti, and buergeria otai (widely distributed in streams below the elevation of 1,500 meters in eastern and southern Taiwan). Kurixalus eiffingeri, buergeria robusta, kuatun frog, bufo bankorensis, and others.

onychostoma barbatulum

Fish

The southern area of Yushan National Park is located upstream. There is little man-made pollution, and the water quality is good, so it becomes a good living environment for freshwater fish in alpine streams. Laonong River is a habitat for onychostoma barbatulum which feeds on attached algae and water-borne insects by bottom rocks. There are also the larger onychostoma alticorpus which are a type of conserved animal.

跳到主要內容

玉山國家公園形象標章

Menu
玉山群峰線

南部園區

本區生態

玉山國家公園南部園區南橫公路沿線,海拔自1000公尺爬升至2700公尺,氣候變化萬千,區域內含有臺灣山林中最珍貴的豐富的生物資源。目前已發現至少20種哺乳類、120種鳥類、50種兩棲爬蟲類、130種蝴蝶及150種鞘翅目昆蟲,這裡是玉山國家公園重要的生物基因庫,也是臺灣生物多樣性的代表性標的之一。
植物

南部園區山峰、溪谷交錯,氣溫的遞變,形成了不同的氣候植被帶,自低海拔的闊葉林、針闊葉林到高海拔的針葉林皆可見到,更因為擁有完整的森林生態系,而成為臺灣植被風貌的代表。

密花苧麻-

密花苧麻

常綠闊葉林帶:1800公尺以下

構成本帶森林樹木以樟科及殼斗科的樹種居多,森林組成歧異度高。
梅山口至禮觀大部份為砍伐過或崩坍過的次生植被,常見植物以向陽先驅樹種為主有野桐、鹽膚木、山黃麻、山芙容、桑樹、刺楤、欒樹等。墾植地則以梅樹、李樹、紅肉李樹、桃樹、油桐、楓香等為主。
禮觀至天池段,此範圍內較潮濕、温暖、雨量豐沛、土壤富含有機質、樹木生長旺盛,所以森林極為蒼鬱,常見植物有苧麻、肉桂、莢蒾、青剛櫟、楠木、臺灣赤楊、長尾柯、千金榆、台灣胡桃、冇骨消、姑婆芋、山枇杷等。

檜木林帶:1800~2400公尺

本林帶為臺灣生態體系的過渡帶,又稱為針闊葉混淆林帶,亦是最大的降雨帶,終年常見雲霧,林下極為濕潤,故有霧林帶之稱。

天池附近曾於民國66、76、79年發生火災,目前所見的次生植被為高山芒箭竹草原與紅檜人工造林、二葉松與華山松人工造林、青剛櫟、毛地黃、高山百合、馬醉木、巒大蕨。

百合

百合

毛地黃

毛地黃

紅檜

紅檜

鐵杉雲杉林帶:2400~3000公尺

此林帶屬針闊葉混合林帶上緣至針葉林帶,樹種以鐵杉及雲杉為主,華山松、二葉松等次之,雲杉則分布於陰向地或陰濕的谷地,鐵杉大部份則呈純林狀態,林下則以玉山箭竹為主。

大關山隧道西側為山陰處較為潮濕,植被以雲杉、鐵杉為主,其他常見植物有昆欄樹、玉山假沙梨,台灣小檗、馬桑、杜鵑、虎杖、懸鉤子、白花香青、小白頭翁、小米草、梅花草、高山肺形草、火炭母草、款冬等。東側植被因位處向陽坡面而與西側迥異,過隧道後的埡口附近多為華山松、二葉松等陽性樹種。

二葉松

二葉松

玉山懸鉤子

玉山懸鉤子

昆欄樹

昆欄樹

鐵杉與瀑布

鐵杉與瀑布

動物

哺乳類

動物的生存各有其不同的植物帶,在南部園區豐富而多樣的植物林帶,因而孕育出種類多的各類野生動物,如臺灣獼猴、臺灣野豬、山羌、臺灣長鬃山羊、穿山甲、鼬獾、臺灣黑熊、黃喉貂、白鼻心、麝香貓、白面鼯鼠、臺灣條(帶)紋松鼠、赤腹松鼠、大赤鼯鼠、華南鼬鼠等。

山羌

山羌

赤腹松鼠

赤腹松鼠

昆蟲

昆蟲是生態指標之一,南部園區的昆蟲遍布於原野與山巔,在大地間作養生息,更為大地增添盎然生氣。常見物種為大紅紋鳳蝶、玉帶鳳蝶、烏鴉鳳蝶、環紋蝶、獨角仙、臺灣深山鍬形蟲、兩點鋸鍬形蟲、彩豔吉丁蟲、黃胸黑翅螢等。

菊池氏龜殼花

爬蟲類

南部園區南橫公路常見爬蟲類為百步蛇、龜殼花、阿里花龜殼花、菊池氏龜殼花、白梅花蛇、黑頭蛇、梭德氏遊(游)蛇、台灣赤煉蛇、斯文豪氏攀木蜥蜴、麗紋石龍子、蝘蜓等。

領角鴞

鳥類

玉山國家公園全園區目前已紀錄鳥種共計233種,於南部園區南橫公路沿線,常見物種為領角鴞、黃嘴角鴞、麻雀、白頭翁、藍腹鷴、五色鳥、黃胸藪眉、冠羽畫眉、白耳畫眉、玉山噪鶥(即金翼白眉、臺灣噪鶥)、翠翼鳩、白頭鶇、大赤啄木、紅頭山雀。

斯文豪氏蛙

兩棲類

兩棲類屬外溫動物,體溫隨著環境而改變,因皮膚與環境直接接觸,所以需要在乾淨溫暖潮濕的環境中生長,是很重要的指標生物。因南部園區南橫公路沿線環境保護得宜,所以兩棲類種類繁多,無論在溪流、樹林或靜水域都可以發現他們的蹤跡。常見物種為斯文豪氏赤蛙、莫氏樹蛙、太田樹蛙(廣泛分布在臺灣東部與南部1500公尺以下的溪流地區)。艾氏樹蛙、褐樹蛙、拉都希氏赤蛙、盤古蟾蜍等。

臺灣鏟頷魚

魚類

玉山國家公園南部園區係屬河川上游地區,人為污染少,水質清澈,為高山淡水溪流魚類的良好生活環境,現於荖濃溪有臺灣鏟頜魚(俗稱苦花、鯝魚),主要以木底岩石之附著性藻類及水性昆蟲為食,另有高身鏟頜魚(俗稱赦兔、高身鯝魚),體型較大,屬保育類動物。