Skip To Main Content

Yushan National ParkLogo

Menu
玉山群峰線

Northwestern

Ecology

The northwest part of Yushan National Park covers Dongpu Village, Xinyi Township, at an elevation of 1,100 meters, to the main peak of Mt. Jade, at an elevation of 3,952 meters. It has a subtropical to frigid ecosystem and breeds rich and diverse planted forests and biological resources. At least 48 species of mammals, 135 species of birds, 13 species of amphibians, 239 species of butterflies, and 147 species of insects have been found. The park has also become a scientific research base for its rich natural resources.

Plants

The northwest area, from places in the lower altitude to places in the higher altitude, has broadleaf forest, temperate broadleaf, and mixed forests, spruce forest, hemlock forest, fir forest, shrubs formed by Yushan junipers and Rhododendron and alpine belt:

Evergreen broadleaf forest

Evergreen broadleaf forest

Evergreen broadleaf forest: Under the elevation of 1,800 meters

Guanfeng on Provincial Highway 21, Batongguan Traversing Trail between Dongpu and Lele are located in the subtropical forest under an elevation of 1,800 meters. This area is humid and warm, with plenty of rainfall and lush forests. The plants in this area are dominated by evergreen broadleaf trees, mostly cinnamomum camphora and glandulifera in the beech family. The forests have layers of regular trees, shrubs and herbs. Red nanmu, ring-cupped oak, cinnamomum insulari-montanum, large-leaved nanmu, Chinese guger-tree, India-charcoal trema, Formosanum elderberry are commonly seen in the area.

Cypress forest

Cypress forest

Cypress forest: At an elevation of 1,800 to 2,400 meters

Guanshan on Provincial Highway 21, Fuci Tree, Batongguan Traversing Trail between Lele and Guangao, and the upstream of Shalixian Creek are located in the temperate forest between the elevation of 1,800 and 2,500 meters. Clouds and fog are common throughout the year. The forest is extremely humid, so it is often referred to as a "fog forest zone,” and a transition zone for coniferous and broadleaf trees. Reddening Maple, trochodendron aralioides, Taiwan red cypress, Yellow Cedar, Taiwania cryptomerioides Hayata, their air plants and ferns and mosses are commonly seen in the area. 。

Hemlock and spruce forests: At an elevation of 2,400 to 3,000 meters

Taiwanese hemlock
Taiwan stranvaesia
red rhododendron

Tataka Recreation Area, Batongguan Traversing Trail and Guangao, and the trail between Tataka and the west peak of Mt. Jade is located in the cold-temperate coniferous forests at an elevation of 2,500 and 3,000 meters. The area has mostly Taiwanese hemlock and spruce trees. The part affected by fires in the early days has Armand pines, Taiwan red pines, Formosan alder, Taiwan stranvaesia, red rhododendron, schefflera taiwaniana, Japanese knotweed, evergreen eulalia, and others.

Taiwan red pines
Taiwanese hemlock
Taiwanese hemlock

Fir forest: 3,000 to 3,600 meters.

From Daciaobi (The Great Precipice) to the main peak - Subarctic coniferous forests located between Yuan Peak crossroad and the area near Laonong River Campground at an elevation of 3,000 to 3,600 meters. Taiwan fir is the main tree species. Fir trees have straight trunks and an elegant look. The underbrush has mostly Yushan cane. Yushan rhododendron, gaultheria itoana, Sorbus randaiensis, adenophora morrisonensis, gentiana scabrida, sedum morrisonense, Mount Yushan pearleverlasting and senecio nemorensis are also common in the area.

Fir forest
sedum morrisonense

Subalpine shrubs: 3,600to 3,850 meters

Main peak - Boreal forest located between Yuan Peak crossroad and the trail near the main peak at an elevation of 3,600 to 3,850 meters. The environment in the area is harsh, with big day-night temperature fluctuations, strong ultraviolet rays, and a dry climate. There are a lot of exposed rocks, strong winds, and heavy snow. Plants grow slowly and are not rather short. Yushan junipers and rhododendron, Yushan barberry, anaphalis nepalensis, and erigeron morrisonensis are common in the area. 

Subalpine shrubs
Yushan junipers

Alpine herb belt: 3,850 to 3,952 meters

Plants are dominated by herb communities at an elevation of 3,850 to 3,952 meters. Often in massive clusters, there are some scattered alpine shrubs, and mosses and lichens can be seen on exposed rocks. Due to the harsh environmental conditions, plants usually have densely hairy or waxy leaves or even thick or recurved leaves, and the main roots are well-developed and deep. Brachypodium kawakamii, sheep's fescue, trichophorum subcapitata, hylotelephium subcapitatum, Taiwan edelweiss, and Taiwan ladybell are common in the area.

Taiwan ladybell
Taiwan edelweiss

Animals

Mammals

The rich and diverse plant belts in the northwest area of the park have given birth to a wide variety of wild animals. There are at least 48 species of mammals and bats. Common species such as Formosan serow, Formosan sambar deer, Reeves's muntjac, yellow-throated marten, wild boars, Formosan rock macaque and other medium- and large-sized mammals are common in the area. Small mammals such as Formosan white-headed flying squirrel, Formosan giant red flying squirrel, Coxing's white-bellied rat, Oldfield white-bellied rat add more diversity to the alpine ecosystem. There are at least 17 species of bats along the Nanxi forest trail. Formosan black bear, a Level 1 endangered species, is also in the area.

Reeves's muntjac
Formosan sambar deer
bats
Reptiles

There are at least 6 species of reptiles in the northwest part of the park. The common ones are trimeresurus gracilis, beauty rat snake, sphenomorphus taiwanensis, and swinhoe's japalure.

Fish

The northwest area of Yushan National Park is within the coverage of Jhuoshuei River basin. Hemimyzon formosanus is common in the upstream Chenyoulan Creek.

Insects
Insects

There are about 239 species of butterflies in the northwest part of the park. The Tataka Anbu (Saddle of Tataka) is an important location for the migration or inhabitation of butterflies on the island. The common ones are snout butterflies, yellow-legged tortoiseshell, Aporia agathon moltrechti, euploea sylvester swinhoei, byasa polyeuctes termessus, zophoessa niitakana and celastrina oreas arisana. Aegus laevicollis formosae Bates, Neolucanus swinhoei, and Dorcus miwai are other insects common in the area. The Tataka Anbu (Saddle of Tataka) and the trail between Dongpu and Batongguan have complete terrain and vegetation, and they become the landscape worthy of butterfly appreciation and research in spring and summer.

Amphibians
Amphibians

The two most famous amphibians in the northwest area are hynobius arisanensis and hynobius sonani, of which hynobius arisanensis is a rare species. The area is considered the world's southernmost place in terms of the distribution of cryptobranchoidea. As for the part of Donpu where the elevation is lower, there are bufo bankorensis, zhangixalus moltrechti, buergeria robusta, Japanese Buerger's frog and odorrana swinhoana.

Birds

Yushan National Park has recorded a total of 233 species of birds in the entire park, and there are 135 species in the northwest area. The common ones are Mikado pheasant, Swinhoe's pheasant, Taiwan partridge, bronzed drongo, Taiwan yuhina, grey-cheeked fulvetta, white-eared sibia, steere's liocichla, rufous-faced warbler, spotted nutcracker, collared bush robin and white-whiskered laughingthrush.

Birds
white-eared sibia
Birds
 spotted nutcracker,

跳到主要內容

玉山國家公園形象標章

Menu
玉山群峰線

西北園區

本區生態

玉山國家公園西北園區自信義鄉東埔村海拔1,100公尺爬升至玉山主峰3,952公尺,具有亞熱帶至寒帶的生態系,孕育豐富多樣的植物林相以及生物資源。目前已發現至少48種哺乳類、135種鳥類、13種兩棲爬蟲類、239種蝴蝶及147種昆蟲。本園區也因豐富的自然資源成為推行科學研究基地地點。

植物

西北園區從低海拔地區往上依序可看到闊葉林、針闊混合林、雲杉鐵杉林、高大聳直的冷杉林,以及由玉山圓柏和玉山杜鵑等組成的矮盤灌叢和高山寒原植物帶,依海拔可區分如下:

西北園區亞熱帶森林(雲龍瀑布與陳有蘭溪)

西北園區亞熱帶森林(雲龍瀑布與陳有蘭溪)

常綠闊葉林帶:1800公尺以下

臺21線觀峰、東埔至樂樂間的八通關日治越道位於約1,800公尺以下之亞熱帶森林內。此範圍潮濕溫暖,雨量豐沛,森林蒼鬱。構成本帶植物以常綠闊葉樹為主,通常以樟科的樟楠類及殼斗科的櫧櫟類種類居多。森林可分為喬木、灌木、草本等層次。常見植物有豬腳楠、青剛櫟、台灣肉桂、大葉楠、木荷、山黃麻、冇骨消等。

紅檜及臺灣紅榨槭

紅檜及臺灣紅榨槭

檜木林帶:1800~2400公尺

臺21線觀山、夫妻樹、樂樂至觀高間的八通關日治越道及沙里仙溪上游約位於海拔1,800至2,500公尺間的暖溫帶森林。終年常見雲霧,林下極為濕潤,故有「霧林帶」之稱,是針葉樹及闊葉樹林的過渡地帶。代表植物有台灣紅榨槭、昆欄樹、紅檜、扁柏、台灣杉等,附生植物及蕨類、苔蘚繁多。

鐵杉雲杉林帶:2400~3000公尺

大鐵杉

大鐵杉

玉山假沙梨

玉山假沙梨

紅毛杜鵑

紅毛杜鵑

塔塔加遊憩區、觀高至八通關的日治越道及塔塔加至玉山西峰下的步道約位於海拔2,500至3,000公尺的冷溫帶針葉林。樹種以臺灣鐵杉及臺灣雲杉為主,受火災影響地可見台灣華山松、臺灣二葉松及臺灣赤楊等,其他常見的植物有玉山假沙梨、紅毛杜鵑、臺灣鵝掌柴、虎杖、高山芒等。

臺灣二葉松

臺灣二葉松

雲杉

雲杉

鐵杉林

鐵杉林

冷杉林帶:3000~3600公尺

大峭壁至主峰─圓峰叉路口間及荖濃溪營地附近約位於海拔3,000至3,600公尺之亞寒帶針葉林。主要樹種以臺灣冷杉為主,冷杉樹幹通直,呈優美林相,林下以玉山箭竹為主。其他常見植物有玉山杜鵑、高山白珠樹、巒大花楸、玉山沙參、玉山龍膽、玉山佛甲草、白花香青、黃苑等。
冷杉林

冷杉林

玉山佛甲草

玉山佛甲草

亞高山矮盤灌叢帶:3600~3850公尺
主峰─圓峰叉路口至主峰頂步道前約位於海拔3,600至3,850公尺森林界線以上之寒帶森林。此區環境惡劣、日夜溫差大、紫外線強烈、氣候乾燥,加上多為岩石裸露地,有強風及重雪,植物生長緩慢且低矮。主要植物有玉山圓柏、玉山杜鵑、玉山小蘗、尼泊爾籟蕭、玉山飛蓬等。
亞高山矮盤灌叢帶

亞高山矮盤灌叢帶

玉山圓柏

玉山圓柏

高山草本植物帶:3850~3952公尺
海拔3,850至3,952公尺,植物以草本群落為主,常呈塊狀叢生,偶有散生的高山灌叢,裸岩上亦可見苔蘚地衣類。由於環境惡劣,植物體常形成葉密披毛茸或蠟質,或葉片肥厚或反捲,主根發達且具深根性等特徵。常見植物有川上氏短柄草、羊茅、玉山針藺、穗花佛甲草、玉山薄雪草、高山沙參等。
高山沙參

高山沙參

玉山薄雪草

玉山薄雪草

動物
哺乳類
動物的生存各有其不同的植物帶,在西北園區豐富而多樣的植物林帶,因而孕育出種類多的各類野生動物,哺乳動物及蝙蝠至少有48種,常見物種如臺灣野山羊、臺灣水鹿、山羌、黃喉貂及臺灣野豬及臺灣獼猴等中大型哺乳動物在本區皆可見,小型哺乳類常見高山鼠類亦增加了高山生態系的多樣性,如白面鼯鼠、大赤鼯鼠、臺灣刺鼠、高山白腹鼠等,其中楠溪林道的蝙蝠至少有17種,另瀕危一級保育類物種,臺灣黑熊亦分布在此區域。
寬耳蝠

寬耳蝠

山羌

山羌

水鹿

水鹿

爬蟲類
西北園區爬蟲類至少有6種,常見為菊池氏龜殼花、臺灣黑眉錦蛇、臺灣蜓蜥及斯文豪氏攀蜥等。
魚類
玉山國家公園西北園區屬濁水溪流域,上游陳有蘭溪常見臺灣間爬岩鰍。
紫斑蝶飛越塔塔加鞍部
昆蟲
西北園區約計有239種的蝴蝶,塔塔加鞍部為本島斑蝶遷徙行經或定點棲息之重要地點,常見為長鬚蝶、緋蛺蝶、高山粉蝶、斯氏紫斑蝶、大紅紋鳳蝶、玉山蔭蝶、阿里山琉璃小灰蝶等;其他常見昆蟲為臺灣肥角鍬形蟲 、紅圓翅鍬形蟲、平頭大鍬形蟲等。塔塔加鞍部及東埔至八通關間的步道,因地形及植被相完整,春夏之際有機會看到如蝶道般具觀賞及研究價值的景觀。
山椒魚
兩棲類
西北園區最為著名之兩棲類為阿里山山椒魚、楚南氏山椒魚,其中阿里山山椒魚屬於珍貴稀有的物種,為世界山椒魚分布帶之最南界;另海拔較低的東埔地區,則常見盤古蟾蜍、莫氏樹蛙、褐樹蛙、日本樹蛙、斯文豪氏赤蛙等兩棲類。
鳥類

玉山國家公園全園區目前已紀錄鳥種共計233種,於西北園區計135種,常見物種為黑長尾雉、藍腹鷴、臺灣山鷓鴣、小卷尾、冠羽畫眉、繡眼畫眉、白耳畫眉、黃痣藪眉、棕面鶯、星鴉、栗背林鴝、金翼白眉。

火冠戴菊

火冠戴菊

白耳畫眉

白耳畫眉

金翼白眉

金翼白眉

星鴉

星鴉