Skip To Main Content

Yushan National ParkLogo

Menu
玉山群峰線

Meishan Visitor Center

On-line showroom

Meishan Visitor Center Exhibition Room

Meishan Visitor Center

Meishan Visitor Center

The entrance to the southern recreation area of the Yushan National Park is the Meishan Visitor Center. After entering Meishan, visitors enter the southern area of the Yushan National Park, which covers major scenic spots along the Southern Cross-Island Highway, such as Liguan, Zhongzhiguan, Tianchi, Kuaigu, and Yakou. To provide visitors with a better conceptual understanding of the highlights of the area before entering the park and to provide more flexible interpretation services, the Visitor Center is mainly divided into two exhibition areas, and Exhibition Area 1 is mainly a self-guided fixed tour design with a small number of DIY interpretations by on-site personnel, including the past and present life of the formation of Yushan, the introduction of rock formations and geology along the Southern Cross-Island Highway, the rich biodiversity of the fog forest zone, the opening of the Highway and the history of the construction of the Guanshan Historic Trail, the story of Typhoon Morakot, hiking safety, etc. In addition to the Visitor Center, Meishan also features another building, the Bunun Cultural Heritage Exhibition Hall, which introduces the history of migrations of the Bunun people, seasonal rituals, and daily life, revealing the inseparable bonds between the Bunun and Yushan National Park.

The Past and Present of Yushan

The Past and Present of Yushan

The Past and Present of Yushan

Yushan, also known as Mount Jade, is the highest peak on Taiwan Island and in Northeast Asia. This area provides a brief introduction to how Taiwan was pushed out of the sea hundreds of millions of years ago and how the five mountain ranges were formed as a result of the continuous collision and compression of the Eurasian Plate and the Philippine Sea Plate and the continuous mountain-building events through orogeny.

The Geology and Mountain Ranges of the Southern Cross-Island Highway

The Geology and Mountain Ranges of the Southern Cross-Island Highway

The Geology and Mountain Ranges of the Southern Cross-Island Highway

Because of the constant mountain-building geological movement, 70% of Taiwan’s land mass is mountainous. From the elevation of 1,014 meters in Meishan to the highest point of the highway, at 2,722 meters in Yakou, the geology is mostly formed by metamorphic rocks, and the degree of metamorphism is shallow to deep, with the age of the strata gradually getting older. The route includes many mountains over 3,000 meters, including the 3,668-meter Guanshan, with the highest peak in Southern Taiwan, as well as Taguan Mountain, Kuhanuoxinshan, Guanshan-Lingshan, Guanshan North Peak, and Yingzizuishan.

Guanshan Historic Trail and the Southern Cross-Island Highway

Guanshan Historic Trail and the Southern Cross-Island Highway

Guanshan Historic Trail and the Southern Cross-Island Highway

The Guanshan Historic Trail is the longest road in the mountainous area built during the Japanese rule of Taiwan. It crosses the Central Mountain Range from Liugui in Kaohsiung to Guanshan Township in Taitung and is 171.06 kilometers long, and was used to monitor the activities of the Bunun people in the mountainous areas. The Zhongzhiguan Police Post was the largest in the western section at that time, with a roster of 30 officers. The Zhongzhiguan Trail is the most well-preserved section of the park, and is located above the Southern Cross-Island Highway connecting the two ends of Tianchi and Zhongzhiguan, providing the public with an opportunity to access the natural and cultural heritage of the site. The Southern Cross-Island Highway, which was completed in 1972, roughly follows the historic trail and merges with part of it. Initially constructed for military defense and logistics purposes, only later did it serve the purpose of tourism and recreation.

Biodiversity of the Fog Forest Zone

Biodiversity of the Fog Forest Zone

Biodiversity of the Fog Forest Zone

The mountainous areas of Taiwan at an altitude of 1,800 meters to 2,500 meters is the area with the most rainfall and the richest biodiversity. Because of the water retention and the topographic effect of the mountainous area, clouds and fog surround the area all year round, thus it is also known as the Fog Forest Zone, which has the characteristics of humidity, frequent rain and cool temperatures. The area extending from Zhongzhiguan to Kuaigu along the Highway is located in this zone, which features an abundance of mixed coniferous forest with tall majestic trees, medium and low level shrubs and grass, forming a multi-layered biological network and rich biodiversity.

Bunun Cultural Exhibition Center

Bunun Cultural Exhibition Center

Bunun Cultural Exhibition Center

When entering the Southern Entrance of the Yushan National Park, one enters the traditional communities of the Bunun people. Bunun culture is presented in two methods to visitors to allow for a better understanding.

  1. Self-guided fixed tour The tour includes the concept of Bunun migration, Bunun beliefs and Bunun lifestyles.
  2. A video is also available that showcases Bunun music and legends, which allows visitors to learn and yearn for more facts about the Bunun people.

Bunun Migration History

Bunun Migration History

Bunun Migration History

The Bunun live in the Central Mountain Range, which is over 1,000 meters above sea level, and are a typical alpine ethnic group. They are also known as one of the most widely dispersed indigenous peoples of Taiwan. There are six major communities: the Take-todo community (around Ren’ai and Wujie Township), the Take-bakha community (Tannan, Dili, Shuanglong), the Takivatan community (Dili), the Takebanuad community (Nantou, Hualien, Taitung), the Isbukun community (Nantou, Taitung, Kaohsiung), and the Takopulan community (formerly known as Takipulan. Mostly in Nantou, with a lesser population).

Bunun Beliefs

Bunun Beliefs

Bunun traditional beliefs are based on the spirit hanitu, which refers to the spirits of animals, plants, spirits, and other natural objects, each of which has its own unique inner power.

Bunun Lifestyles

Bunun Lifestyles

Bunun Lifestyles

The Bunun people have been living in the central mountain range for many years, and their traditional life basically revolves around the agricultural production method of mountain field swidden farming. Members often travel through mountains in pursuit of animals, which is supplemented by hunting and gathering, so the purpose of hunting is meat consumption and animal hides.

跳到主要內容

玉山國家公園形象標章

Menu
玉山群峰線

梅山遊客中心

展示室

梅山遊客中心展示室

梅山遊客中心

梅山遊客中心

玉山南部園區的入口即為梅山遊客中心,進入梅山之後,即是玉山南部園區範圍,沿途包含禮觀、中之關、天池、檜谷、埡口等南橫公路沿線主要景點。為提供遊客進入園區前,概念性的瞭解本區特色,並提供更具彈性的展示解說服務,遊客中心主要分為2個展示區,展示區1主要為自導式固定導覽設計,並加入少部分現場人員的DIY解說布置,包含玉山形成的前世今生、南橫沿線岩石與地質介紹、霧林帶的豐富的生物多樣性、南橫公路的開闢與關山越嶺古道的築路歷史、莫拉克颱風的故事等、登山安全等。除了遊客中心,梅山還包含另一棟建築物-布農文物展示館,介紹布農族的遷移脈絡、依時而行的歲時祭儀、食衣住行育樂等文化特色,揭示著布農族與玉山國家公園之間密切關連的重要意涵。

玉山的前世今生

玉山的前世今生

玉山的前世今生

玉山位於陸域面積最大的玉山國家公園境內,是臺灣島以及東北亞最高峰。本區從臺灣如何在億萬年前自海底被推擠露出海面、如何因歐亞大陸板塊以及菲律賓海板塊持續的碰撞擠壓、持續的造山運動而至五大山脈的形成,有一簡單明瞭的介紹。

南橫的地質與群山

南橫的地質與群山

南橫的地質與群山

因為造山運動的關係,臺灣有七成的區域都是山地。南橫公路自梅山1014公尺的海拔行至公路最高點2722公尺的埡口,地質多屬變質岩,變質程度由淺而深,地層年齡也逐漸變老。沿線包含許多超過3000公尺的高山,包含南台首嶽3668公尺的關山,以及塔關山、庫哈諾辛山、關山嶺山、關山北峰以及鷹子嘴山等。

關山越嶺古道與南橫公路

關山越嶺古道與南橫公路

關山越嶺古道與南橫公路

關山越嶺古道是日治時期所闢建的山區道路中最長的一條,自高雄六龜越過中央山脈到達台東的關山鎮,全長171.06公里,是為監控活躍於山區的布農族而設置的,而中之關駐在所即為當時西段最大的一處,編制多達30人,中之關步道是園區內保存最完善的一段,位於南橫公路上方連接天池、中之關兩端,提供民眾得以親近自然與人文的歷史現場。而1972年竣工的南橫公路大致沿著古道而行,合併了部分的古道,起初是為了國防運輸,後來才兼具觀光遊憩功能。

霧林帶的生物多樣性

霧林帶的生物多樣性

霧林帶的生物多樣性

海拔1800公尺至2500公尺的台灣山區是降雨量最多、也是生物多樣性最豐富的區域,因為水氣滯留與山區地形效應,終年雲霧繚繞,因此又稱霧林帶,具備潮濕、多雨、冷涼的特色。南橫中之關至檜谷正好位處此區帶,本區為針闊葉混合林,除了高大的喬木,又有中、低層的灌木及草本,形成多層次的生物相與豐富的生命網絡。

布農文化展示中心

布農文化展示中心

布農文化展示中心

進入南部園區也就進入布農族的聚落,為了讓遊客更認識布農族文化,並提供2種方式讓遊客更認識布農文化。

  1. 用自導式固定導覽的方式。包含布農遷徙、布農的信仰及布農族的生活概念。
  2. 影片播放方式如布農的音樂及傳說故事,讓探訪的旅人更加認識與嚮往。

布農族的遷徙

布農族的遷徙

布農族的遷徙

布農族長年居住於中央山脈,海拔一千公尺以上,是很典型的高山族群,也是所有原住民伸展力最強的一族。分為六大社群:卓社群(仁愛武界一帶)、卡社群(潭南.地利.雙龍)、丹社群(地利)、巒社群(南投.花蓮.台東)、郡社群(南投.台東.高雄)、搭科布蘭郡(簡稱蘭社群,南投,人數較少)。

布農族的信仰

布農族的信仰

布農族的傳統信仰是以精靈hanitu為基礎,hanitu 是指動物、植物、魂魄等自然物所具有的精靈,而每一自然物的精靈皆有其自己獨特的內在力量。

布農族的生活概念

布農族的生活概念

布農族的生活概念

布農族人長年居住中央山脈,傳統生活基本是依賴山田燒墾的方式農業生產,經常穿梭於崇山峻嶺追逐動物,而輔於打獵及採集的勞力工作,因此狩獵的目的是即時期肉及獸皮。